//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Anxiety is Anxious // 4 days until departure

I studied philosophy in university because it allowed my soul to explore, rather than my brain to diagnose with psych or sociological questions. If you believe there is a problem, there will be. I chose not to focus on problems, but rather how I can step above them(theory of allocation).

But – some problems I can’t overcome. Until they happen – time is the key component. 

My flight to Korea has been delayed 7 days, I have more time in Canada, but less time to adjust to Korea. Now, after spending 30 hours in air or airport, I will have 12 hours before I begin teaching. For the first time. Ever. 

“Anxiety is anxious” writes Heidegger, but never has that quote been more accurate. As soon as that flight takes off there is no turning back. Like most of my decisions, I’ve blindly followed my heart – allowing the chips to fall along the way. That’s why I am excited, I embrace challenges. This is an adventure. 

I will learn to leave my expectations behind me and allow things to appear as they are. 

I can’t sit in one place anymore while others obsess over materialism and greed, obtaining physical beauty while ignoring emotional growth. While I love my city, my country, my friends and family – there is more to this world and I cannot stop until I explore it. 

“Do not stand at my grave and weep                    I am not there.

                                                                               I do not sleep.

I am a thousand winds that blow.

            I am the diamond glints on snow.

                        I am the sunlight on ripened grain.

                                  I am the gentle autumn rain.

When you awaken in the morning’s hush I am the swift uplifting rush

Of quiet birds in circled flight. I am the soft stars that shine at night.

Do not stand at my grave and cry;

                                                 I am not there.      I did not die”

A poem about death allows me to appreciate life. Do you appreciate yours? 

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

